Frozen Dinners

4

May 21, 2014 by travelinggrits

Imagine you cooked a special dish, perhaps for a holiday, that was so delicious, so wonderful that you put a portion in the freezer. When you later dug it out and reheated it, savoring the chance to repeat that gustatory experience, it didn’t taste quite like you remembered.

Logging back into the GRITS today felt sort of like that. Last summer, just prior to the fateful demise of my trusty laptop, I managed to save no less than 11 drafts of mental snapshots and memories to complete once I had reliable technology at my disposal. However, after sitting on the back burner for so long, I’m afraid my thoughts may have cooked down to an unrecognizable stew. Lifting the lid to peek inside was a little disconcerting.

I’m determined not to let any morsel go to waste, however, and I am hopeful that with a few fresh additions and some spice, my thoughts are still salvageable. Now that nearly a year has elapsed, perhaps it is the appropriate time to reflect and give things a stir.

I’m rolling up my sleeves, looting the pantry, turning up the heat. Will you give it a go again, my dinner guests?

4 thoughts on “Frozen Dinners

  1. Ken Weaver says:

    Christina, this is Ken Weaver, a friend of your Dad’s. As a former Peace Corps Volunteer, I looked forward to your posts and enjoyed the quality of your writing. There is much value in the reflection that the last year has provided that will make the fare even tastier. I am back at the table anticipating the next course.

  2. mom says:

    yay! grits are back!

  3. Debbie McLeod says:

    Love to hear from you!!!

Leave a Reply

