Hypocrisy

2

August 24, 2013 by travelinggrits

We’re all guilty of being a little hypocritical at times.

During my undergraduate days, I distinctly remember walking back to my dorm, backpack laden with books, lamenting with a friend about our workload. People always say the real world is tough, but being a student is hard! At the end of the day, you can’t leave your work on your desk, go home and kick up your feet. You have to slave over textbooks and write papers on nights and weekends. It never stops!

Then again, I also recall a conversation with a fellow Fulbright teacher last year. What were we thinking in college, when we moaned about our workloads? You never actually went to class all day; you got breaks sometimes. Now, we work eight-to-five days teaching twenty classes a week, and sometimes we end up taking work home too.

Now I am a graduate student with an assistantship and my first real bills. Perhaps now I know better.

But I still don’t know what it’s like to be a working mom with two kids trying to make ends meet. Or a doctoral student balancing a job and a marriage. Or a primary caregiver for an elderly family member. Or a cancer patient undergoing chemo.

Maybe, at some point, I will become one of those. Or all of those. And then I will know what those people privately thought when I voiced my previously burdensome problems.

But it’s not about where you are on that scale of burdens. You better take off those lenses of pity on the lives of others. You better unload that bag of hard knocks and one-ups you’ve been collecting. What will it be worth to you if you carry that to the end?

Dust off your hands, wipe your brow, stomp your boots. Today’s troubles are tomorrow’s adventures in disguise.

No matter who you are, no matter what you face, live well. Laugh often. Love deeply.

2 thoughts on “Hypocrisy

  1. Mom says:

    LIVE…..LAUGH……LOVE!

    • Irelou says:

      A wise woman once told me to enjoy my kids during every stage. I’ve learned that those words can apply to whatever stage in life I am in. Each stage of life brings its own set of joys and burdens. If we only focus on the burdens, then life will pass us by, and we will never experience the joys!

      Enjoy graduate school. ALL of it!

Leave a Reply

