These Dark Days

1

July 25, 2013 by travelinggrits

The Traveling Grits have been through some dark days of late – quite literally.

On one fateful day in July, I managed to shield the contents of my purse from the torrential turmoil of Korea’s monsoon season, but not from the explosion of my water bottle within.

My laptop didn’t take the abuse too lightly. Oh, the Internet worked perfectly and documents opened at a snap. But the screen stayed dark as the stormy brow of a moody teenager.

The backlight had shorted. Repairs were likely too expensive, and as my grant year drew to a close I simply ran out of time to travel to a larger city and wait on the results. In some ways, it was a good thing – I relaxed more and went to bed earlier without the distraction. But electronic correspondence of any kind became difficult besides what I could squeeze in during school between classes.

Never fear – the Traveling Grits haven’t scraped the bottom of the pot quite yet. Keep your appetite – there are more servings coming to your plate over the next few weeks.

It’s always darkest just before the dawn.

One thought on “These Dark Days

  1. Hal French says:

    Oh, my, Christina, I opened this just after you left my office yesterday! So nice to see you, but so sorry to hear of your computer woes- hope they’re all taken care of now.

    Thanks again for dropping by, and Godspeed in your ventures in the other Carolina. Come back for football, etc.!

    Hal

Leave a Reply

