Where in the World are the Traveling Grits?

4

February 2, 2013 by travelinggrits


The day before my winter vacation, the skies opened and a blanket of snow fell so swiftly that school was dismissed early. I didn’t expect a large crowd for my last session of English camp to be held the following day, but I still had to show up, just in case.

To my surprise, I had decent turnout, and I’m glad I did. My second year students had been following a theme of “Make a Nation,” where they learned about geography, currencies, laws and customs. On the final day, the students presented the components of their imaginary nations that they had compiled following each week’s lesson. (The winners were Donut Land, complete with sugar glaze waterfalls, a donut hole lake and the Krispy Hotel, and Face Nation, where the landforms resembled different body parts.)

The students also completed the “Diamond Thief” challenge, where they used what they had learned to solve clues to catch a criminal fleeing around the world with jewelry and the Mona Lisa in tow.

After snapping pictures and handing out prizes, it was time to go. I tidied my desk, closed down my computer, threw my backpack over my shoulder and fled the country.

And I was never heard from again.

where are grits

Well, at least until now.

When Fulbright gives you the opportunity for four weeks of travel – you have to take it and run with it.

After hopping around six countries, I’ve returned to tell the tale.

I apologize if I left you in suspense. My dear readers, don’t feel robbed of the opportunity to live vicariously through my experience – updates are coming soon.

Yes, I was guilty of yearning for warmer weather and the freedom to wander. But upon my return, I spent an entire week sleeping late, enjoying leisurely lunches with my host mom and killing time on the Internet. I can’t remember the last time I was quite so unproductive. It was bliss.

So agents, can you crack the case? Where did the Traveling Grits go first? Don’t PSY – it doesn’t take the brains of SHERLOCK to figure this one out, just a little SEOUL.

Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “Where in the World are the Traveling Grits?

  1. John HATCHELL says:

    South Korea?? You are so amazing at what you are doing, I know everyone you meet says surely this lady is a personal friend of Jesus Christ!! Keep rockin and yes keep us updated!! God bless we love you !!

  2. Hal French says:

    Hal French, Feb. 2nd- Well, Christina, I’m not very good at super sleuthing, so I’m not sure where you’ve been- except further south (!!), but glad you’re back in the South (Korea, that is, doing great things, I’m sure! Does the groundhog (Puxatawney Phil) come up in Korea today?

  3. Larry Oswald says:

    WE ARE SO GLAD YOU, MOM AND DAD HAD A GREAT VISIT AND THAT YOU WERE ABLE TO TOUR “SOUTHEAST ASIA” AS THE EXPENSE OF MAKING MOM AND DAD AND SOME OF US NERVOUS. HA! YOU ARE SO SPECIAL AND THE WORK YOU ARE DOING WE ARE CONFIDENT IS PLEASING TO CHRIST….YOU SURELY HAVE THE APPROPRIATE NAME CHISITINA(FOLLOWER OF CHRIST)…WE LOVE YOU VERY MUCH AND PRAY FOR THINGS TO GO WELL FOR YOU THERE.

  4. Larry Oswald says:

    OOPS…SORRY I MISPELLED YOUR NAME…PLEASE FORGIVE ME…THAT’S AN AGE RELATED PROBLEM. HA!

Leave a Reply

